Unfortunately, or indifferently, I was not able to watch the Rio Olympics as the events unfolded. Fortunately, my dearest sister had recorded the whole thing, so when I had gone down South to visit family and to witness two good friends of mine participate in the sacred ceremony of bonding called Marriage, I was able to sneak in a peak of the opening ceremony.
Given the circumstances of their situation, I think the Olympic intro did a good job. I really had hoped for more Capoeira to be evident in the sequences, or maybe even an entire scene, because I feel that it plays a big part in Brazilian culture. Because I was only at home for a short time, I could not watch the Olympics itself. "It would be nice" if you could buy the games on DVD or something. I wouldn't mind saving or unwisely spending over $60 for a box set.
Ugh, but the whole thing was just amazing. I'm still in love with Russia's opening, but Brazil did a might fine job envisioning a bulk of history all into one spec-daz-ular choreography. From origins, to the contrast of slums and wealth, to the cat walk, especially the cat walk (Gisele Bündchen is the girl from Ipanema)! Really wish I could re-watch the games at home on my own time though.
While there were many protests and crisis going on at the time, I am glad the intro gave a shout out to environmental concern. Hopefully the government(s) can pull their act together and just fix everything that has been allowed to get out of hand. Similar things were going on at Russia's games. I'm getting tired of finding out that all these iconic and tourist locations are in ruin or in political/ social turmoil.
Reading Biblical prophecy and studying the Book of Revelation, I had anticipated focused governments and organizations. Instead I get conspiracies about super secret elite societies that supposedly run the governments of the world. That's even harder for me to believe because it looks like they're just shooting themselves in the foot left and right and all over, but that's a blog/rant for another day. Good job Brazil! And congrats to all that gave their best!
Thursday, August 25, 2016
Not formal title, just another update.
I haven't posted anything at all in a while, aside from almost random tweets, but that all changes today! You might be saying, "Jorge, instead of writing why not film it, vlog it, or Youtubes it?" Haha, well that's what I'm going to do. I have a habit of writing things out before I say them. Help me get the message out a bit more coherently. So most of what I say is more like a commentary to the original thoughts.
Believe me, hearing my thoughts in the raw are almost impossible to understand. Unless we had the time to talk about things for hours, it'd be like trying to solve a Rubix cube with only half the pieces. Another reason why I haven't really been active is because I've been busy. Busy learning other things in hopes of making my content a bit more enjoyable. Like learning guitar, piano, studying to test out of an exam so that I can get my BA in Theater/TV/ Film. Things like that, while trying to remain sane!
I'll be posting again here later today, I already posted on the Instagram, but I might take that one down, and I'll be posting a video too. Hope things are going well on your end, life is a spectrum full of colors.
Believe me, hearing my thoughts in the raw are almost impossible to understand. Unless we had the time to talk about things for hours, it'd be like trying to solve a Rubix cube with only half the pieces. Another reason why I haven't really been active is because I've been busy. Busy learning other things in hopes of making my content a bit more enjoyable. Like learning guitar, piano, studying to test out of an exam so that I can get my BA in Theater/TV/ Film. Things like that, while trying to remain sane!
I'll be posting again here later today, I already posted on the Instagram, but I might take that one down, and I'll be posting a video too. Hope things are going well on your end, life is a spectrum full of colors.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)